Committed to connecting the world


ITU Management Team 2019-2022


ITU's new management for 2019–2022​

ITU Member States elected the Union's top elected officials during the 20th Plenipotentiary Conference (PP 18), 29 October to 16 November 2018.​ ​

Mr Houlin Zhao of China was re-elected to the post of ITU Secretary-General. 

Houlin Zhao, an information and communication technology (ICT) engineer who has served in a variety of senior management positions at ITU, began his second, and last, four-year term on 1 January 2019. Prior to first being elected as ITU Secretary-General in 2014, Zhao served eight years as ITU Deputy Secretary-General. He also served two elected terms as Director of ITU's Telecommunication Standardization Bureau (TSB), which develops technical standards to ensure worldwide ICT interoperability. Before that, he was a Senior Counsellor with TSB for 12 years.

​​​Mr Malcolm Johnson of the United Kingdom was re-elected to the post of ITU Deputy Secretary-General.

Malcolm Johnson is a seasoned information and communication technology (ICT) executive and has served in multiple senior management positions at ITU. He began his second, and last, four-year term on 1 January 2019. Prior to serving as Deputy Secretary-General, Mr Johnson served from 2007 to 2014 as Director of ITU's Telecommunication Standardization Bureau (TSB). Between 2003 and 2006, Mr Johnson was International Coordinator at the United Kingdom's Office of Communications (Ofcom). From 1992 to 2003, he was Director of the United Kingdom's Radiocommunications Agency. Between 1988 and 1992, he worked in the European Commission's Telecommunication Regulations Division.

Mr Mario Maniewicz of Uruguay was elected to the post of Director of ITU’s Radiocommunication Bureau (BR).

Mario Maniewicz served from 2014 to 2018 as Deputy Director of the ITU Radiocommunication Bureau (BR), where he supported the Director and the membership in the vital function of global management of the radio-frequency spectrum and satellite orbits. Previously, Mr Maniewicz held a variety of management positions at the ITU Telecommunication Development Bureau (BDT) as well as in ITU Regional Offices, where he worked closely with governments, regulators and operators to develop strategic policies and regulations to enable the modernization of the telecommunication sector in Latin American countries. Prior to joining ITU, Mr Maniewicz worked for Uruguay's main telecommunications operator and as an Assistant Profess​or at the Faculty of Engineering of Uruguay's leading university. 

Dr Chaesub Lee of Republic of Korea was re-elected to the post of Director of ITU’s Telecommunication Standardization Bureau (TSB).

Chaesub Lee started his professional life in 1986 as a researcher at Korea Telecom. After 17 years he took up a role at the country's Electronic and Telecommunications Research Institute (ETRI), where he stayed for the next eight years. Prior to joining ITU, Dr Lee worked at the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), and as a senior advisor to the country's Ministry, ICT and Future Planning (MSIP). Within ITU, prior to his first term as Director of the ITU Telecommunication Standardization Bureau (TSB), Dr Lee served as Chairman of the ITU Next-Generation Networks (NGN) Focus Group He was also Vice-Chairman of the ITU IPTV Focus Group.

Ms Doreen Bogdan Martin of the United States was elected to the post of Director of ITU’s Telecommunication Development Bureau (BDT). This is the first time ITU Member States have elected a woman in the organization's 153-year history.

Doreen Bogdan-Martin served from 2008 to 2018 as Chief of ITU's Strategic Planning and Membership Department where she acted as advisor to the ITU Secretary-General, and was responsible for ITU's corporate communications, external affairs, corporate strategy and membership — as well as managing the ITU-UNESCO Broadband Commission for Digital Development. She also served as the Head of the ITU Telecommunication Development Bureau's Regulatory and Market Environment Division from 2007 t​o 2008, and Regulatory Reform Unit from 2003 to 2007. Prior to joining ITU, Ms Bodgan-Martin served as a Telecommunication Policy Specialist at the National Telecommunications and Information Administration of the United States Department of Commerce.

​ ​​​​​​